The Promise of Easter Hope

The Promise of Easter Hope

This Lenten Season was the hardest I have ever encountered. I left the penitential season feeling unaccomplished and an utter failure. No devotions read, not many sacrifices completed, most planning for the children fell apart.

Easter is a new season and a fresh start. Entering the Easter Season this past Sunday, I have been surrounded in the promise of hope that always follows Lent and I am learning how to embrace it.

“Easter is meant to be a symbol of hope, renewal and new life.”

Janine di Giovanni

I am renewed because it is the season of renewal even though I do not deserve it. I think it is good to be reminded that the promise of Easter Hope is not just a gift given to a select few but to those who are willing to accept it heart and soul.

Are you still focused on the outcome of your Lenten Season? It is time for your fresh start and time to embrace the hope that God is offering to you.

“Hope” is the thing with feathers –
That perches in the soul –
And sings the tune without the words –
And never stops – at all –

And sweetest – in the Gale – is heard –
And sore must be the storm –
That could abash the little Bird
That kept so many warm –

I’ve heard it in the chillest land –
And on the strangest Sea –
Yet – never – in Extremity,
It asked a crumb – of me.

— Emily Dickinson

The poem above is one of my absolute favorites. I think it describes Hope in its most pure form. Hope is a constant companion. It dwells within us because of the love of God. It is one of many gifts he has blessed us with – and it can be found everywhere and never asks anything in return.

God is Hope.

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Romans 15:13

God is Love.

Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.

1 John 4:8

There can be no faith without hope and love.

I am guilty of carrying around “junk”. The negative feelings, not living in the moment, and pretty much anything else that could self-destruct my connection to hope, love and God. I have made the decision to allow this Easter to be a fresh start for me. A renewal of faith, family and friends.

God has created this season of hope and filled it with so many reminders of the hope of Easter so if we get lost on our journey of renewal, we can be brought back to begin again.

Easter is Spring. Spring is the time when the beautiful flowers bloom and diffuse their wondrous scents into the air. Many baby animals are born and the daylight stays with us longer during the day. No wonder this season is so joyful and meaningful…

Easter is meant to be simple and I know I am guilty of over-complicating it.

In honor of the promise of Easter Hope, I challenge you to let go of anything that is keeping you from experiencing the promise of Easter Hope and renewal.

Embrace this amazing gift and enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

