If Mary Had Said, “No”…

Sometimes I wonder what would have happened if Mary had said, “No.”

What is mission? I can not help but to think of some sort of military action. Mission readiness, is a phrase that I am all too familiar with because of the nature of my husband’s job. The next image mission conjures up is of Tom Cruise ziplining across hectic terrain to save the world from a super terrorist’s plot. Digging a bit deeper, I imagine scenes like the ones in The Color Purple of people dressed in white building school houses, bathrooms, and providing medical care to an impoverished community while teaching its inhabitants about Christianity. As of right now my immediate mission is to ensure that my husband, children, and dogs make it from Virginia to California by car without killing one another; or severely severing family relationships as we commandeer their hot water, plugs, television, electricity, and eventually sanity when they host us along our way.

Mary said, “Behold, I am the handmaid of the Lord. May it be done to me according to your word.” (Luke 1:38)

I wish I could write a poem about mission, but that would be a disservice. No abstract phrasing or clever rhyming this time. Now is the time for candor.

Blessed are you who believed that what was spoken to you by the Lord would be fulfilled. (Luke 1:45)

I am suddenly reminded of the scene in the first Harry Potter Movie when all the letters informing Harry Potter of his acceptance came flooding through the windows, doors, and chimneys of his aunt’s house. She and her husband had been trying to keep the letters a secret from Harry. I am like Harry’s aunt and uncle, hiding from God’s plan for me. He has been working on me for a while now, preparing me for a task, calling me to do His will. I have had my doubts and made my excuses. With each doubt a new messenger arrives with the same message.

The Lord said to him: Who gives one person speech? Who makes another mute or deaf, seeing or blind? Is it not I, the Lord? (Exodus 4:11)

In other words, God does not send the qualified or the equipped, He equips and qualifies the one(s) He sends. He sends us on missions to do His will His way. Some may be small and others more extensive, pushing us outside of our comfort zones. Although we may be fearful and uncertain, know that He not only goes before us but He goes with us.

Now go, I will assist you in speaking and teach you what you are to say. (Exodus 4:12)

 Sometimes I wonder what would have happened if Mary had said, “No,” but thank you Lord she did not. She said, “Yes,” and now it is our turn.

Know that the Lord works wonders for his faithful one;
the Lord hears when I call out to him. (Psalm 4:4)

 

 

2 thoughts on “If Mary Had Said, “No”…

  1. Well-said. My problem, or maybe complaint, has sometimes been wondering what God had in mind for me. At those times, a clear ‘do this’ instruction would have been welcome. Or at least that’s what I imagined.

    Reality generally seems to be other than what I expected. Or wanted, sometimes. And that’s another topic.

    Thanks for sharing this. Good thoughts.

    Like

  2. Pingback: My Mission Changes… – Everyday Ediths

Leave a Reply

