Hope in Crisis

I’m going to be honest with you all… the words aren’t coming easy today.

There’s rarely a day when I do not come across some sort of gut-wrenching, heart-breaking piece of news that makes me question the direction our society is headed. It’s even worse when that news is about people I am supposed to trust, my Church, my home.

Like many of you, I am confused, infuriated, disgusted, and heartbroken by the news recently released about happenings in the Church. I mourn for those who were hurt and I mourn for the souls of those who inflicted that hurt.

Who can think of hope in a time like this?!

Well, actually… we all should be thinking of hope in a time like this. Moments of crisis are exactly what hope is for!

Hope is more than wanting something to happen. It’s even more than a feeling of expectation.

Hope is a feeling of trust.

There is one particular Bible verse that has gotten me through quite a few confusing, infuriating, disgusting, and heartbreaking times.

Hebrews 6:19

“This we have as an anchor of the soul, sure and firm, which reaches into the interior behind the veil.”

What is this anchor?

Hope. Faith. Trust.

There are many of us who are wondering how to react to this moment of crisis. I offer you a solution: Hope. Faith. Trust.

Hope that righteous justice will be served and that the wounded will find healing through Christ Jesus.

Faith that this one, holy, catholic, and apostolic Church will withstand this battle- because this is a spiritual attack from Satan, but Christ has already won the war.

Trust that God will reveal His plan this horrible, sorrowful situation when the time is right.

I invite each of you to join me in prayer…

Hail Mary, full of Grace, the Lord is with thee. Blessed are thou among women and blessed is the fruit of thy womb Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners now and at the hour of our death.

St. Mary MacKillop, pray for us.

St. Agnes, pray for us.

St. Maria Goretti, pray for us.

St. Agatha, pray for us.

Amen.

 

 

Leave a comment